The little things..

Posted on March 11, 2012

2



This morning I woke up to a relatively silent house barring the sound of tv from the lounge … For a few seconds I believed it to be a dream , how could I be experiencing anything but the ritual din of the fabulous two having their 55th row over what channel to watch , what game to play ……. All before 8am…… on a Sunday morning … Yes Sunday mornings, when the rest of the world is enjoying lazy sleep ins , freshly brewed coffee and the paper , I am usually wide awake and playing peacemaker …

I found myself rubbing my eyes in disbelief and the second thought that raced through my head was that of guilt and fear , how could I allow myself to sleep , what if something might have happened to the two … Prone to danger and mischief as they are …

I raced outside my bedroom to have a look ,fearing what lay ahead but lo and behold , what have we here …

The fabulous two , ALIVE , seated on the lounge , sharing a blanket , watching tv. I had to literally bite my tongue so I wouldn’t disturb this picture of peace in my home . Slowly , almost sneakily I retreated back to my room thanking God and everything else that matters for bestowing me with this incredible moment .

20120311-083453.jpg

As I lay back in bed , a comfortable silence still part of the background , I thought of what a blessing I had just experienced , a very little moment in the big scheme of things but special none the less .

Quite like the anecdote above , there are so many little things that make up our everyday lives which we simply take for granted …like that takeaway cup of coffee every morning , the rain followed by a rainbow , the smell of fresh roses, a lovely chat with a dear friend , a mother’s hug , a father’s words of wisdom , a child’s innocence , a sibling’s teasing ( read : annoying ) banter ,the tenderness of love and so much more ..

What are some of the little things in your life that you truly cherish but often times forget to acknowledge ?

Disclaimer : I am a responsible,loving mother and I LOVE  the rare sleep in !

