If I Didn’t Open This Email.

Posted on May 4, 2012

6


Day before yesterday, I received an email from a dear friend. There was no subject but the body read :

“please please please PLEASEe read this…”

and displayed a link.In the middle of a hectic week with the fab 2 back at school and a LOT happening at work,I briefly skimmed the email without opening the link, surely it could could wait until later when I had a breather.Later that day, my friend A rang me and while we were randomising about complex life issues (read: whether to buy a red scarf or purple), she suddenly remembered , “Hey S, did you read that email I sent you?”

“No, I’m sorry A, I didn’t. I did see it in my inbox, thought I’d read it later”

What followed was what we here in Australia call a “dummy spit”

A, who is not a Facebook junkie like myself, loves sharing interesting stories/snippets with friends the traditional way i.e forwards. Yes you can say A still lives in the early 2000’s, back when email firwards were all the rage…. Oops if you are reading A , sorry if i ave something away!

“What? You haven’t read it yet? You NEVER read anything I send you S” ,said a slightly enraged A

“No it’s not like that A, I just didn’t get a chance, I was going to read it”, I reasoned

“Yes but I specifically said that you HAD to read this one”, She argued, I suppose she meant the 4 pleases, one almost capital.

 A just wasn’t in the mood to reason and I felt like I was in primary school again.

Quickly enough though and luckily for me, she got distracted and momentarily forgot that she was upset with me as she went on to deliver an animated spiel about something else she had come across.Phew, I thought…crisis averted but that unopened email and A’s visibly upset expressions lingered with me. Now don’t get me wrong, A is one of the most understanding people I know and though she doesn’t have any children of her own yet, she is usually quite considerate of how hectic and demanding my life can be.An unread email here and there really is no big deal.

So what is this email that A was so passionately pushing on me? As the link opened and I read the story, the reason behind the urgency in A’s voice became all too evident. She had shared this link with me because the moment she read it, she knew in her heart that I would have loved it too. What a beautiful, inspiring and heart warming story that must be shared. Almost instantly, I felt guilty for not reading it any earlier.Please take a few moments to read this story here :

A Cab Ride I’ll Never Forget

We speak about gratitude and the little things very often here at Mumchic.This is a story that reminds us to take stock of those many little moments, to make a conscious effort to make a difference to the lives of others and to remember that “We’re conditioned to think that our lives revolve around great moments. But great moments often catch us unaware – beautifully wrapped in what others may consider a small one.”

Thankyou, A.I am glad I opened your email, I truly am.

