The Pancake Recipe You Can’t Afford To Miss!

Posted on September 22, 2012

2



Happy Weekend Everyone !

It is going to be a hectic one for us with a house move around the corner and a LOT of packing and culling to do still but we will get there, somehow … I might end up looking like a worn out zombie in the process but we will get there ! Affirmative… (Fine so I like to humour myself, what’s wrong with that?)

But a daunting and impending house move isn’t going to stop me from cooking fancy food here at Mumchic HQ is it. Heck, if anything, the cooking distracts me from what lies ahead in terms of the mountains of clothes I have to sort in “To Give Away” or “Not To Give Away” piles and that’s just the clothes…

Anyway, I won’t rant on about this house move as I am sure you will hear more over the week ahead. Moving on to the recipe, I have tried MANY different pancake recipes over the years, original style, buttermilk, sweetened, unsweetened, you name it. And though most have been decent enough, I cannot say I have found the ONE until this morning. So a few tiny tweaks to my original batter and we have a very easy and impressive keeper that will have you wondering why you ever bothered with a pancake mix. Thick, fluffy and borderline sinful, just the way pancakes were meant to be!

Mumchic’s Very Own Best Pancakes Ever

Serves 3

You will need ;

  • 1 cup self raising flour
  • 1 cup light milk (not skim)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Butter or margarine for cooking

Preparation ;

  • Pre-heat a non stick fry pan.
  • Add self raising flour and sugar to a medium sized bowl and make a deep well in the centre.
  • Add milk, egg and vanilla essence.
  • Using a fork mix the flour with the wet ingredients until just combined and all the lumps are removed.The key here is not to over mix your batter.
  • Add a small coin sized dollop of butter to the preheated frying pan.
  • Add just less than 1/2 cup of batter to the pan and let it cook on medium heat until bubbles appear on the surface and the sides begin to dry.
  • Flip over to the other side, adding a little butter on the sides, cook until the pancake turns a rich golden brown.
  • Repeat for the rest of the batter

Serving Suggestion (pictured):

Serve with chopped up strawberries, chocolate shavings and a generous drizzle of maple syrup.

Blueberries, bananas, rasperries go well too. And if you like nuts, some toasted pecans and walnuts are delightful!

Do you have a favourite pancake recipe? If you do get around to trying this recipe , please pop back to review it :)

That is all from me for now, I best return to that dreaded mountain of clothes I need to sort, have a wonderful weekend won’t you ?

~ Sabeen

Posted in: Breakfast, Musings