Darkish Rocky Road – Recipe Included And Absence Explained…Well Sort Of.

Posted on October 18, 2012

2



Hello Hello!

I apologise for my unexplained absence from the blogosphere for the past few weeks. The last time we spoke, I briefly mentioned moving house but who would have thought at the time that moving house would turn out to be such an  unending ordeal. Rocky road just about perfectly defines the past couple of weeks and though I have tried to pen my thoughts on various occasions in the past week or so, with my scattered mental state and an exhausted to the bone body, I am not surprised that I haven’t got very far.

Before I handed over the keys to our old house  last Thursday, I anticipated that I might feel an  overwhelming sense of relief at the house move ordeal finally coming to its tail end. Instead, as I drove away from the old house early Thursday morning, I felt nothing…. yep to my own amazement, I felt blank. Had the entire excruciating exercise ( yes it was excruciating and although I do tend to be over the top dramatic at times, I am dead serious about this one !) of a house move desensitised me to the point that I didn’t really even care that it was finally over? Perhaps, the relief will kick in this weekend when I have had a bit of time to soak it all in, unwind from the chaos our lives have been caught up in the last month and truly enjoy our new beautiful new abode.

One day, I would like to rewind and tell you all a bit more about why this house move happened and everything that went wrong in the process. Like every rocky road, I learnt a lot from the grazes and bumps along the way but more about that later.

For now, here’s a recipe for something sweet and delightful and known as rocky road for all the right reasons. That yummy, gooey, chocolatey and so very sinful slice of heaven we all LOVE. Versatile, makes a lovely, colorful treat for those tricky teacher’s presents, just wrap in clear cellophane and tie with a colored piece of cord. This rocky road slice is sure to be a crowd pleaser especially coming up to the festive season and is easy enough to get the kids involved without creating too much of a mess. Stores well for 7-10 days in a airtight container.

photo 1.JPG  photo 2.JPG

Darkish Rocky Road – The Mumchic Way

You will need :

  • 2 x 200g bars of cooking chocolate (milk) broken into cubes
  • 50g of dark chocolate broken into cubes
  • 50-75g of turkish delight chopped into smallish cubes
  • 100g mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup dessicated coconut
  • 1/4 cup unsalted peanuts (shelled – optional)
  • 1/2 cup raspberry lollies (cut in quarters)

What next?

  • Line a standard slice/bar pan with baking paper or foil.
  • Place all the chocolate except turkish delight into a microwave safe bowl and melt for about 2 minutes. Stir and melt again in 15 second bursts until all the chocolate is fully melted.
  • Add in all the remaining ingredients and mix well.
  • Pour the mixture into the  prepared slice pan spreading evenly.
  • (At this point, you could spend a few minutes licking the bowl because it is TOTALLY worth it!)
  • Refrigerate for about 30 minutes or until the slice has begun to set.
  • Cut into 1 inch bite sized squares or larger if you like based on personal preference.
  • Return to the fridge and allow to set for atleast a couple of hours. 
  • Once completely set, break into desired pieces.

Too easy and totally mmmmm !!!

{Over To You}

Do you have a favourite rocky road variation? 

Did you just make a mental checklist of what ingredients you have available in your pantry from the above list ? Haha, I wouldn’t blame you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in: Food, Musings