Looking For A Book To Read This Weekend ?

Posted on November 23, 2012

8



Intellect and love are made of different materials,” he said. “Intellect ties people in knots and risks nothing, but love dissolves all tangles and risks everything. Intellect is always cautious and advises, ‘Beware too much ecstasy,’ whereas love says, ‘Oh, never mind! Take the plunge!’ Intellect does not easily break down, whereas love can effortlessly reduce itself to rubble. But treasures are hidden among ruins. A broken heart hides treasures.

~ Elif Shafak

Feel like having one of those weekends where you could just curl up on the couch and read and read and read ? (Oh you might get up and have a coffee in between I said might) .Then this post is just for you!

A couple of days ago my dad (an avid reader) updated his Facebook status with a rave one line review of “Fort Rules Of Love” by Elif Shafak. Now,usually you are meant to ignore your parents’ Facebook updates and expect them to do the same (especially post 30) but the title of this book sounded too interesting (maybe it reminded me a bit of 50 shades of Grey?!? I dunno!) and a bit of googling revealed that the book is partly based on the life of none other than my favourite sufi poet/writer Rumi. As I read excerpts and quotes from the book from all over the internet, I began to realise that I needed to get my hands on a copy…as soon as possible, the sooner the better.

Here’s another beautiful blurb :

Try not to resist the changes that come your way. Instead let life live through you. And do not worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come?

Such simple words, the author successfully incorporates so much depth and meaning into them… Elif Shafak leaves me wanting more.From the synopsis, it seems like this book is a must read for any Rumi fan and even if you aren’t, I will not be surprised if the book turns you into one.

So if you are wanting a weekend of lazy reading and immersing yourself in stories of love, friendship and heartache, then get your hands on this one. As for me, I’m headed to the book store now. Let me know how you go!

Great pick dad!

Happy weekend all, much love :)

Sabeen

Posted in: Musings