Where Has December Gone?

Posted on December 14, 2012

5



It is the 14th of December and I feel like the month has simply whizzed past me. It is roughly 10 sleeps till Christmas and 17 sleeps until we hit 2013! I am not so sure I am ready for 2012 to end already, it seems to have flown. Jan 2013 also means I turn 34, there is still SO much I need to cross off my list before I turn 35 including a trip to Europe. For which I need to save. For which I need to stop looking at clothes. Which is never going to happen. Although 2013 might be different. Might.

Anyway, I think I might do a special New Year’s resolution ( aka those silly rules I break every single year) post next week but now  its time to bring you upto speed with what’s been happening in my life so far this month and a few exciting things coming up on the blog!

The fabulous two have made it through another successful year at school and I couldn’t be happier with how they have come along especially with FS #3 with his brilliant reading, we are so lucky and blessed to be at such a wonderful school!

The boys had their first Tae Kwon Do grading followed by the school fete late November.

Then there was the work multicultural lunch, I brought a traditional Pakistani Karahi, it was a complete sell out. (shameless self promotion)

photo 1 (2)

One of my dearest, oldest and most wonderful friends here in Canberra packed up her house and moved with her clan of 6 to sunny Queensland. Although we didn’t see each other as much as we would have liked in recent years, I will miss her presence tremendously but I also know its for the best for her and her family. Love you Trina!

2012-12-15 00.15.09

Pic from her farewell dinner.

My first bestie in Australia and a brilliant writer, Ro visited Canberra on a 2 day networking event. I forgot to snap some pictures on the day but we had a lovely dinner at the HQ.

We put up our first ever Christmas tree!

Isn’t it gorgeous?

My baby sister who braved the isolating winters of Canberra for two whole years in the pursuit of a high quality education has now graduated with a Masters Of Management and a Masters of Business Administration from the Australian National University. At various points in the past two years, I thought she would strangle me alive if I asked her to come over one more time. No doubt, it has been a difficult and gruelling time for her juggling a job and a couple of degrees in what seems like a very competitive, cut throat environment. But she made it through and with flying colours too and so we are very very proud! Good on you sis :)

And to celebrate the graduation, we were joined by none other than the two very special people who have taught us all we know about life. Our parents.

Then there was the school Christmas carols night, after school care Chrissy party, work party, various end of year parties for programs the boys were attending at school. And there is still more to come with writing out cards for school this weekend and preparing presents for teachers. As much as I love this time of the year with all the color, warmth and festivities, I just find that I end up spreading myself too thin each and every year. I do wish I had better strategies in place to cope with all that has to happen come December!

But enough on the personal front. While its been quiet here on the blog, there have been a lot of exciting things happening in the background. So here is what you can look forward to in the next few weeks here on the blog :

An inspiring interview with John Andersen, Founder – Contiki Holidays

2 new features being introduced on the blog :

  • Empowered Mothers
  • Enterprising Entrepreneurs

A Baker’s Delight sponsored Sunday brunch

Possibly a new blog design ( Yes I know its so exciting);

And several fantastic reviews and promotional giveaways.

From what I can see, Mumchic.com is going to rock in 2013..fingers crossed :)

How about you ? How is December turning out for you ? Are you ready for 2013?

Are you like me wondering…Where has December gone?

Posted in: Musings