Top 10 Annual Promises To Self – Made To Be Broken {Mostly}

Posted on January 1, 2013

4


New Year's resolutions

New Year’s resolutions , we all make them and more often than not, break them. How is 2013 going to be any different? Here’s a quick snapshot of  my annual promises to myself in no particular order.

1.At 7 & 9, these are the years the Fabulous 2 need me most so on the top of my list is to spend more time with my children. I will actively seek ways to work out of home so I can be around them as much as possible.

2.Save, save and SAVE without going too overboard. I am an accountant, I have some sort of absurd saving image to uphold. I think.

3. Take a mad amount of pictures. Even more than I did in 2012. Especially sunrises.

4. Give up chocolate… Nah scratch that, it never would have happened anyway!

4(a)Read.More.Books.

4(b)See my friends. Often.

5. Grow  Mumchic bigger and better in 2013. More inspiration, more food and more stories on parenting. A new layout is already in the works and will be up and running very soon. YAY!

6.Limit gadget use and more digital free time with the family. As much as we love our gadgets,  at times we tend to overuse them here at the HQ so for example, at dinner time, we will pass around a basket and everyone will hand in their phones, hand-held consoles, Ipods and have a good old family time. The same for dinners at restaurants. In fact a great idea came from my sister – everyone keeps their phone at one end of the dinner table when dining out, the first one to reach for their phone has to pay! Pretty cool eh ?

7. Begin planning my trip to Europe (the one I need to do before I turn 35) – Which is solely dependent on the success of point 2.

8. Grow more veggies, herbs, flowers and fruits. Since moving to the new apartment, I have been actively gardening and thoroughly enjoying it! I don’t know a lot and neither do I have a green thumb but I feel that its a wonderful hobby to cultivate in the New Year and I can’t wait to learn more.

9. I need to learn how to take naps and breaks to rejuvenate myself to prevent burn out. I need to allow others to help me… especially those who want to help and trust them others with things.In short, I need to chill out.

10. Continue having 20 minute chats with the fab 2 before they fall asleep, amazing how wonderful those sleepy conversations can be!

Apart from the above, there are the usual yearly resolutions like getting fit, staying calm, eating healthy, getting and staying organised ,adhering to a budget, less shopping , err nevermind!

And with that, its an official wrap of 2012 for me. A year that has tested me in a myriad ways. I think I have come through unscathed, mostly. Also a year that has given my life a brand new direction with this blog.

 2012, it has been a journey indeed. 2013 , it’s time to shine!

What are your resolutions for 2013? Share with us here your top 3. If you have written a post on your resolutions, feel free to share the link in the comments section of this post.

Here’s to a positive, happy, safe and prosperous 2013.

Happy New Year All.

Much Love,

Sabeen

Image Credit : Some-ecards.

Posted in: Musings