The Quintessential Birthday Post And Life’s Second Chances.

Posted on January 27, 2013

36



The Quintessential Birthday Post.

 

34.

It’s not a big birthday. Hardly so. But as another year of my life winds to a close, I find myself reflecting back to my big 30th.

Let me take you back to 2009. The year I turned 30. The year I changed my life… for good.

It was a year of awakening for me, the year that I decided I would not survive any longer under oppression, I wanted to LIVE. I wanted my children to experience life fully, unfiltered. Lying just ahead was a monumental task for someone who felt defeated. In 2009, my self esteem had hit record lows, a battered personality and a broken soul.

What followed was a battle against the odds. A fight I will never forget.I stood my ground, firmly..surprising myself and those around me. It is a long story and while I will not get into all the details of it today, lets just say it was never pleasant. If ever, my strength and resilience have been tested, this was it. Turning 30 was like going through a personal avalanche. Read more about my thoughts on turning  30 here.

Fast Forward 4 years.

A few hard facts and a recap.

You make a choice. You stick by it. Simple.

My life is far from perfect but it is a lot more peaceful than it would have been in a toxic situation.

The biggest criticism I copped was that I was making a decision for myself but not for my children. Errr say that again and I might clobber ya!

Parenting is the hardest job in the world. Solo-parenting harder. But when I see their innocent smiles, their twinkling eyes brimming with michief, curiosity and love tucked away somewhere in there too, softly nestled in the many lazy morning cuddles…all the exhaustion of solo parenting melts away.

At 16, I wanted to be a writer. Post babies, my wonderful friend and one of most inspiring writers I know, Miss R encouraged me to write how I was feeling as I went through severe depression, I didn’t get very far. Then one day in 2012 the baby sister said , you cook so well, why not start a blog?

Feb-12 I started writing again. Just like that.

I have realised that post 30, birthdays tend to matter less and sadly, even the baby sister is now old enough to be treated like an adult! That makes me feel OLD , instantly.

At 30, I established I had many acquaintances but very few genuine friends. The past 4 years have strongly cemented that.

I have resurrected for my children and myself a life without any external assistance from anyone. A part of me is very proud. And yet, there are many places to go, lots more to accomplish.

Last but not the least important, life gives us a second chance and when it does, we must grab it, with both hands. That one split second, that one second chance has the potential to change the course of our lives forever.

I will leave you with a picture from this day last year that is very special to me and a verse from a poem I read very often.

Birthday

Two roads diverged in a wood and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

Have you ever taken a chance that changed the course of your life completely?

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT

Posted in: Musings