Whole And Hearty Mutton Stew {The Flu Antidote}

Posted on March 10, 2013

4



Being sick is the pits I tell you! Friday morning I woke up to a high temperature , sore body, jammed, sore throat and I literally could not move a muscle. Heck, I even missed With Some Grace’s FYBF , that’s like THE party to show up to bright and early on a Friday morning . Can you imagine the devastation? So under normal circumstances, what do you do? You somehow get out of bed long enough to be able to feed the kids and bring them to school.You come back home, call in sick, crawl under your doona, have a panadol or two and sleep the day off , right? 

Well no not exactly. Not when you have an important interview, for the job you have been acting in for a year. An interview you can’t afford to muck up. An interview you were busy preparing for until 2am the night before.  So I did what any insane sane person would do. I popped 2 panadols and a leftover antibiotic from previous script, crossed my fingers that it would fix me, got dressed in my smart interview outfit and headed out. As long as I could see this interview out, I could worry about everything later.

The drugs kept me going till about 2pm long enough to finish with the interview, after which all hell broke lose aka the fever returned, I had the worst headache ever and still had 3 hours of work to get through. Not cool.

The only redeeming factor in all this is that it is a long weekend here in Canberra, yep we get to have an extra day off which means 3 days of complete rest. Ok maybe 2 days of complete rest and 1 day of cleaning, washing and the like. Someone’s gotta do it right?

I spent all of today (Saturday) doing absolutely nothing, I  guess my body needed the rest too. I caught up on the Pakistani dramas I haven’t watched in a few weeks, a bit of social networking here and there and basically just lazing around. At one stage, I fell asleep on the couch too, that’s an achievement for someone who doesn’t nap. ever.

Close to 5pm , I felt hungry having hardly eaten the past few days with feeling sick and all that medication. Some warm soup would be lovely, I thought ..but who is going to make it? I felt too tired and drained. One could be the most attentive parent in the world when it comes to caring for our children but we are the opposite when we have to care for ourselves. I pushed  and lugged  myself off to the shops to pick up some flu care supplies. See here :

soup supplies

A soup, bread,tea and biccies kinda weekend.

On the way back I felt like getting some fresh air so stopped over at the local park , sat on one of the benches and soaked in the beauty around me.

canberra sunset pictures

That certainly helped.  Got home feeling better and slightly more energised but I also knew it wouldn’t last long, thought I’d better get that soup going. While normally for a flu, I would cook this delicious Chicken Soup, today I wanted something different. I remembered by Keralite friend Susan and her beautiful mutton stew. Susan had given me her traditional recipe a long time ago but I never wrote it down. Then again, there’s always google. I came across a few recipes which sounded similar to Susan’s but not quite the same. I thought I’d just go ahead and wing it, what’s worst that could happen ? It turned out delightful!

So here it is, losely inspired by Keralite Mutton Stew , some whole and hearty goodness , a perfect antidote for the flu and totally delicious on those cold wintry nights.

kerala mutton stew

Whole And Hearty Mutton Stew.

Serves 4

You will need:

  • 1/2 kilo goat or mutton cut into casserole pieces
  • 2 potatoes cut into chunky pieces
  • 2 carrots cut into chunky pieces
  • 2 tomatoes roughly chopped
  • 1 inch piece of ginger chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic chopped
  • 2 spanish onions finely chopped
  • 2 green chillies 
  • 400 ml can of coconut milk
  • 2-3 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp salt or as per taste
  • 1 tsp black pepper 

Tempering :

  • 8-10 curry leaves
  • 1/2 tsp  mustard seeds
  • 2 sticks cinnamon
  • 8-10 pepper corns
  • 2-3 black cardamoms

kerala mutton stew preparation

What Next :

  • Heat oil in a thick bottomed pot , add in all the tempering ingredients until you hear them splatter and there is a light fragrance.
  • Add onions and fry until they are transluscent
  • Add mutton pieces, carrot and potato chunks,ginger, garlic, turmeric powder, salt and black pepper
  • Fry for about 2-3 minutes until the meat is pale and sealed
  • Add tomatoes, slit green chillies and coconut milk and about half a cup of water.
  • Cover and slow cook for 2 hours

kerala mutton stew prep

Enjoy with a warm toasted bread roll or even some steamed rice.

What is your favourite soup or antidote when you are sick?

Posted in: Food, Pakistani